Skip navigation

The Conservation Council of WA (CCWA) is the state’s foremost not-for-profit, non-government conservation and environment organisation. 

We have been a prominent and forthright voice for conservation for more than 50 years working directly with the government, media, industry, community groups, and political parties to promote a more sustainable WA and to protect our natural environment.

From the rugged far-north of the Kimberley, to the green forested South West, to our amazing coastline and unique marine life, CCWA speaks for the protection and conservation of all nature in WA. This is achieved by working closely with government, political groups, the media, industry and communities. 

CCWA represents more than 100 environmental organisations across Western Australia, with tens of thousands of engaged individuals statewide. This broad collective of like-minded groups and individuals creates a vibrant and passionate community, dedicated to the conservation of our unique and diverse state.

Our work

Campaigning and lobbying on a wide range of environmental issues, CCWA and its wider network not only strive towards meaningful change at a local level but to tackle critical environmental challenges on a much larger scale. 

Much of our organisation’s work has spanned decades and today covers four broad policy and campaign areas: Nature and Wildlife; Waste and Recycling; Climate Change, Energy and Fossil Fuels and Environmental Regulations and Pollution Control.

Whether it’s protecting our local environment and culture, getting our hands dirty by facilitating citizen science, or promoting sustainable development—CCWA is dedicated to ensuring that our future generations have a clean, healthy and rich natural environment to enjoy. 

Together, we represent more than 100 environmental organisations across Western Australia, which have joined as Member Groups.

Team Members

CCWA has a small team of dedicated staff who lead campaigns, engage with the community, liaise with governments and support our member groups.

Piers Verstegen - Executive Director

Piers Verstegen is the Executive Director of the Conservation Council of Western Australia and past Vice President of the Australian Conservation Foundation. He was named by the West Australian newspaper as one of WA's 100 most influential people for his environmental advocacy and community leadership. Piers has represented the WA community on numerous advisory boards and committees across a range of topics from climate change, waste management and marine conservation. Piers holds a Bachelor of Science with first-class honours in Sustainable Development and has authored academic publications in environmental science, law, politics, and economics. He has worked in diverse roles including as a mechanic, local government officer, and senior policy advisor in the WA State Government. Piers grew up in the Perth Hills and on his family farm in Walpole. In his spare time, he loves kayaking, bushwalking and riding vintage motorcycles.

Maggie Wood - Programs & Engagement Director

Paul Goonting - Finance & Operations Manager

Wendy Low - Bookkeeper (part-time)

Robert Davies - Senior Media Advisor

Stephanie Murphey - Communications & Engagement Officer

Sara Boranga - Events Coordinator (part-time)

Kelly Duckworth - Policy & Research Manager

Dominic Donaldson - Gas Analyst

Mia Pepper - Nuclear Free WA Campaigner (part-time) 

KA Garlick - Nuclear Free WA Community Campaigner (part-time)

Dr Nic Dunlop - Citizen Science Coordinator

We are governed by a democratic constitution, which empowers our members to elect our Executive Committee, adopt resolutions for action and determine policy positions on important environmental issues.

CCWA represents more than 100 community environmental organisations from across Western Australia. Find a Member Group in your area.

Our Executive Committee is nominated and elected by our members annually at our AGM.

President: Prof Carmen Lawrence
Vice President: Tim Barling
Honorary Treasurer: Jason Parish
Honorary Secretary: Lou Scampoli

Executive Members:
Caroline Perks
James Eggleston
Lillian Ryan
Paul Jarvis