Skip navigation

James Eggleston announced as new president for WA’s peak conservation body

The Conservation Council of WA (CCWA) is pleased to announce the appointment of James Eggleston as the new CCWA President, following the 2022 Annual General Meeting.


He steps into the role following the departure of long-standing president Dr Carmen Lawrence, who served the maximum allowed two four-year terms, under the charitable trust’s constitution.

James brings a wealth of experience in the fields of conservation, technology, policy and research and has served on the CCWA Executive Committee for six years. He is also a councillor with the Australian Conservation Foundation and describes himself as a dedicated conservationist. This passion for the protection of the natural world enthuses his pursuits in both his working and personal life and James can often be found hiking the Bibbulmun track on a weekend.

“It’s a real honour to be able to step into the role of CCWA President, particularly following on from the incredible leadership of Carmen Lawrence, who has been exceptional as president for the past six years.”, said James.

“The importance of CCWA as the peak body for environment and conservation in our state has never been greater. Across Western Australia, the threats to our iconic flora and fauna, the fabric of what makes our state so unique, are multiplying by the day.

“The impact of indiscriminate mining, industrialisation, emissions and the large scale destruction of our natural places is alarming and CCWA has a vital role to play as an independent, apolitical and not-for-profit body, committed to standing up for our environment.

“This organisation has a proud track record of success, taking an active role the establishment of new environmental protections, national parks, marine parks, the commitment to ban native forest logging and much more.

“Alongside the Executive Committee and the Executive Director and CCWA staff, I look forward to meeting the many challenges and continuing this organisation’s key role in our state.”

Alongside James, the 2022 CCWA AGM saw the election of a new executive committee, including five new members: Tim Clifford, Sophie McNeill, Katherine Helps, Jessie Parish and Felicity Bairstow.

Lillian Ryan and Jason Parish remain as Vice President and Honorary Treasurer, respectively, while committee members Caroline Perks, Paul Jarvis have stepped down to pursue other projects and commitments.

Long serving Honorary Secretary Lou Scampoli has also reluctantly stepped down from his position with a new secretary to be appointed in the new year.

“I would like to express my sincere thanks, on behalf CCWA, for the hard work and dedication Caroline, Paul and Lou have shown as members of the Executive Committee.” said James.

“Each of them have been incredibly generous in giving their time and expertise to help guide this organisation and in support of its important work.”

“All committee members are volunteers who dedicate their spare time to the role and I know I speak for the many involved in conservation across our state that their efforts and hard work are greatly appreciated.”

The full committee list can be found, here:




MEDIA INFORMATION: The Conservation Council of WA (CCWA) is the state’s foremost non-profit, non-government conservation organisation representing more than 100 environmental organisations across Western Australia. 

For more information, visit:

CONTACT: For any enquiries relating to this release, please contact Robert Davies

08 9420 7291 / 0412 272 570 or by email, [email protected]  

Continue Reading

Read More